WB: To Know the Dark

Frequently, I find myself returning to the tent at dark. This will likely change as we gain more daylight, but for now, I am usually traveling the last kilometre or so by foot with only the moon to guide me. I came across this poem recently which encouraged me to continue to refrain from using a headlamp on my evening walks.

To Know the Dark

To go in the dark with a light is to know the light.
To know the dark, go dark. Go without sight,
and find that the dark, too, blooms and sings,
and is traveled by dark feet and dark wings.

– Wendell Berry, New Collected Poems

3 thoughts on “WB: To Know the Dark

  1. I really like this poem, I’m going to keep it in mind when I find myself in a situation of darkness. Hope you are doing well with your newly constructed bed in the tent! Good luck with your night journeys.

    • Thanks for the comment Josh!

      The bed is AMAZING! It’s one of those little things (total cost was under $30) that has seriously improved my living situation. It’s also inspired me to partake in a new build which hopefully I’ll be doing this weekend…

  2. Pingback: My Three Roommates: Dark | The Northern Pioneer

Leave a Reply

